vendredi 26 septembre 2008

The Softones - The Softones ( Soul )

01 - The First Time
02 - Everybody Knew But Me
03 - Can't Help Falling In Love
04 - Extra Ordinary People
05 - I'm Gonna Prove It
06 - Why Why Baby
07 - And I Remember Your Face
08 - Never Let A Woman Like That Go By
09 - My Dream


The Softones are a "sweet soul" group from the city of Baltimore, Maryland. Their biggest hits were: "My Dream", "Can't Help Falling in Love", "I'm Gonna Prove It", "Carla My Love", and "That Old Black Magic".
They recorded for the Avco Records record label, in the early to mid 1970s. They were a very underrated singing group, whose initial breakout recordings were blessed with superb production. A single listen to the lush production of "My Dream" transforms you to another place, a magical kingdom, with the majestic use of strings and French horns that is this tune's opening signature... in the same fashion as Thom Bell's early arrangements for The Delfonics, the song "Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)" as an example. Lead singer Marvin Brown's high falsetto, similar to that of Earth, Wind & Fire's Philip Bailey, only higher and smoother and almost as instantly recognizable. Also in the group are Steven Jackson and Elton Lynch. To this date, they are still together and still singing.
Like The Stylistics, The Softones were also produced by Hugo Peretti, Luigi Creatore, Joseph E. Levine, and the late Van McCoy, whose orchestra, comprising the top New York session players of the era, served as the house band for many of these Avco recordings.

3 commentaires:

Anonyme a dit…

The Softones - The Softones (1973) :

Liam Latrine a dit…

Hi, very interested in listening to this, please can you offer another link since MU is dead. Thanks You :)

Liam Latrine a dit…

Hi, got a copy thanks.